What's making the paint go like orange peel?

Post your technical queries / problems here!
pryantcc

What's making the paint go like orange peel?

#1 Post by pryantcc » Wed Apr 27, 2011 6:18 pm

Hi guys, another painting question.

I've started squirting high build primer at the Alvis and every panel requires extensive sanding with wet&dry to get rid of the orange peel.

I'm just wondering is it the way I'm spraying? (I have zero experience) or the paint or the atmosphere, or what?

I'm using 2-pack filler/primer on top of etch primer on top of aluminium. I spray on 1 coat of etch (single pack, no hardener, just thinners), let it flash off, then 3 coats of filler/primer allowing it to flash off between coats also. I'm doing it in my garage, no heating, but I've made sure it's always above 15 degrees C whenever I do it. I have also got an infra-red heat lamp to help the paint flash off between coats.
Any handy tips to ease the sanding burden?

Thanks,
Paul.

m.thaddeus

Re: What's making the paint go like orange peel?

#2 Post by m.thaddeus » Wed Apr 27, 2011 10:28 pm

Hello There

It does save a lot of time and effort if the primer is flat, it also saves a lot of material as all of those bumps are wasted paint. But it does take a bit of practice to get a smooth coat of hi-build without also getting runs. The balance is about the runniness of the paint and how much you put on. Oftentimes you will find that the first few coats go on nice and flat, but successive passes lead to pudding.
One remedy is to thin the last coat so as to make it flow out into the previous.

But having said all of the above, everyone who has painted has spend a lot of time flatting out lumpy primer. One trick to make life easier is to use a slightly coarser grade of wet and dry initially and finish with the proper one. Or start by dry-flatting with 400 and finish with 600 or 800 wet.

pryantcc

#3 Post by pryantcc » Thu Apr 28, 2011 1:56 pm