triumph stag soft top

Post your technical queries / problems here!
gosnell1005

triumph stag soft top

#1 Post by gosnell1005 » Sat Mar 05, 2011 5:12 pm

Im new to stags so a bit of help reqiured. is there an in depth article on adjusting the stag soft top , the workshop manual is very limited.
when I bought the car I was told that the top was hard to close on one side. On closer investigation I found that there was only one bolt fixing the hood to the car body on one side so I thought this was the problem but I was wrong I re fitted the bolts and spring and found that the hood would not pull fully open it was fouling the door B piller and again when shutting the torney cover it would not close as it was hitting the hood. When I remove two of the fixing bolts the hood pulls fully closed and the torney cover is also ok but as I said originaly the oposite side wont reach the position so as to fit the closer handle. Not very clear I know but I have to start some where.

Regards John

stagman

Re: triumph stag soft top

#2 Post by stagman » Sun Mar 06, 2011 8:21 pm

cannot help much with the hood I am afraid but are you a member of the Stag Owners Club ? Their forum is very good and there may well be someone who will be able to help. If you are not a member you can have a free trial on the forum for a few weeks anyway.

mr rusty
Location: Harlow, the birthplace of fibreoptic communication, as the town sign says.

#3 Post by mr rusty » Mon Mar 07, 2011 10:52 am

ideally you need to look at another car- I don't know what a Stag frame is like but a Herald/Vitesse frame is a pretty complex affair, the factory manual shows all the millions of bits but not really how they interact, mine was wrong but I didn't know exactly how it was wrong until I physically looked at one that was right.........it all became clear then what someone had done to my header rail attachments in the dim'n'distant past !!